Week Day Date Topic Reading Notes
1 Tue Aug 23 Administrivia How to read a paper
Thu Aug 25 Specifying Concurrent Systems and intro to first programming project Epidemic algorithms for replicated database maintenance by Alan Demers et al. Due Aug 30, 9am
2 Tue Aug 30 Specification continued A Simple Approach to Specifying Concurrent Systems (Sections 1-2, 3-4 optional) by Leslie Lamport Due Sep 3
Thu Sep 1 Instantiation and Refinement Use of Formal Methods at Amazon Web Services Due Sep 6, 9am
3 Tue Sep 6 Mutual Exclusion, Inductive Invariants, and Model Checking Hints and Principles for Computer System Design by Butler Lampson up to and including Section 3.4 Due Sep 9, 9am
Thu Sep 8 Consistency Hints and Principles for Computer System Design by Butler Lampson, remainder Due Sep 14, 9am
4 Tue Sep 13 Consistency, continued Chain Replication by Robbert van Renesse and Fred B. Schneider Due Sep 16, 9am
Thu Sep 15 State Machine Replication no review assignment
5 Tue Sep 20 Consensus no review assignment
Thu Sep 22 Student presentations Impossibility of Distributed Consensus with One Faulty Process; End-to-end arguments in system design Due Sep 21, 9am
6 Tue Sep 27 Student presentations Paxos Made Simple; Distributed snapshots; Determining Global states of Distributed Systems Due Sep 26, 9am
Thu Sep 29 Gossip Program Evaluation Session
7 Tue Oct 4 Student presentations On the duality of operating system structures; seL4: formal verification of an OS kernel Due Oct 3, 9am
Thu Oct 6 Student presentations ghOSt: Fast & Flexible User-Space Delegation of Linux Scheduling; An Analysis of Linux Scalability to Many Cores Due Oct 5, 9am
8 Tue Oct 11 Fall Break
Thu Oct 13 Student presentations Dynamo: Amazon's Highly Available Key-Value Store; Spanner: Google’s Globally-Distributed Database no report required
9 Tue Oct 18 Student presentations Time, Clocks, and the Ordering of Events in a Distributed System; Internet Time Synchronization: The Network Time Protocol Due Oct 17, 9am
Thu Oct 20 Student presentations Design and Implementation of a Log-Structured File System; The Google File System Due Oct 19, 9am
10 Tue Oct 25 TBD TBD
Thu Oct 27 TBD TBD
11 Tue Nov 1 TBD TBD
Thu Nov 3 TBD TBD
12 Tue Nov 8 TBD TBD
Thu Nov 10 TBD TBD
13 Tue Nov 15 TBD TBD
Thu Nov 17 TBD TBD
14 Tue Nov 22 TBD TBD
Thu Nov 24 Thanksgiving Break
15 Tue Nov 29 Project Presentations
Thu Dec 1 Project Presentations