Date Posted: 8/13/2013

Three computer scientists were elected to the NAS this year, and two of them were Eva Tardos and Juris Hartmanis. (The third was Avi Wigderson from the Institute for Advanced Study.) Click Here

The election of Juris Hartmanis and Eva Tardos to the National Academy of Sciences means that Cornell CS is tied with MIT for the most people (4) who are members of both the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences --- especially noteworthy since Cornell is roughly a third of MIT's size.