Date Posted: 8/18/2016

Deborah Estrin was the 2017 recipient of the IEEE Internet Award. She was cited for "formative contributions and thought leadership in Internet routing and in mobile sensing techniques and applications, from environmental monitoring to personal and community health"

The annual award recognizes from one to three people each year for "exceptional contributions to the advancement of Internet technology for network architecture, mobility, and/or end-use applications". The evaluation criteria include "innovation, leadership in the field, contributions to open system, specification, honors or other achievements, and the quality of the nomination". Estrin was the sole 2017 awardee.

Recipient list: