Joe Halpern co-wins the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award for fundamental advances in reasoning about knowledge, belief, and uncertainty. (His co-winner, Barbara Grosz, is a Cornell alum).

The ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award is presented to an individual selected for career contributions that have breadth within computer science, or that bridge computer science and other disciplines. This endowed award is supported by the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, and by individual contributions.