CS Professor, and former CS department Chair (2010-14), Joseph Halpern has been elected to full membership in the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). The admitting body of the NAE pointed out for special commendation Halpern’s work on “methods of reasoning about knowledge, belief, and uncertainty and their applications to distributed computing and multiagent systems.” 

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Halpern joins fellow CS faculty Fred Schneider (2011), Debra Estrin (2009), Jon Kleinberg (2008), Eva Tardos (2007), Donald Greenberg (1991), John Hopcroft (1989), and Juris Hartmanis (1989) in this great honor.

See also an article on Halpern's election in the Cornell Chronicle (February 12, 2019).