Award and press for Wavelet Turbulence

Technical Achievement Award
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

To Theodore Kim, Nils Thuerey, Markus Gross and Doug James for the invention, publication and dissemination of Wavelet Turbulence software.

This technique allowed for fast, art-directable creation of highly detailed gas simulation, making it easier for the artist to control the appearance of these effects in the final image.

2012 Scientific and Technical Awards Ceremony

SciTech Awards 2012

©2013 Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Partial Filmography for Wavelet Turbulence

Avatar (2009)
Monsters Vs. Aliens (2009)
Sherlock Holmes (2009)
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009)
G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra (2009)
The A Team (2010)
Alice in Wonderland (2010)
How to Train Your Dragon (2010)
Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole (2010)
Megamind (2010)
Shrek Forever After (2010)
The Wolfman (2010)
Green Lantern (2011)
Super 8 (2011)
Kung Fu Panda 2 (2011)
Puss in Boots (2011)
Journey 2: the mysterious Island (2011)
Sucker Punch (2011)
Thor (2011)
Hugo (2011)
Battleship (2012)
Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted (2012)
Red Tails (2012)
The Amazing Spider-Man (2012)
Iron Man 3 (2013)
Man of Steel (2013)
Life of Pi (2013)

Selected Press


Cornell / Ithaca:


Santa Barbara:


German press: