next up previous
Next: About this document Up: Resume Previous: Other activities

  • Elected member of National Academy of Engineering, 2019.
  • Moore Distinguished Scholar at Caltech, 2018-2019.
  • Chair-Elect of the Section on Information, Computing, & Communication of AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science): term of office 2018-2021 (Chair-elect: 2/18/19-2/18/20; Chair: 2/19/20-2/17/20; Retiring Chair: 2/18/20- 2/14/21).
  • Recipient of Lady Davis Fellowship, Hebrew University, 2018.
  • Jin Yuelin Lecturer at Tsinghua University, 2017
  • Selected Fellow of the Game Theory Society, 2017
  • Kampe de Feriet Award, 2016
  • Elected Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Science, 2015
  • Selected IEEE Fellow, 2012
  • Selected Economic Theory Fellow, Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory, 2011
  • ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award, 2011
  • Saul Gorn Memorial Lecturer, University of Pennsylvania, 2011
  • Kenneth A. Goldman '71 Excellence in Teaching Award, 2010
  • 2009 Edsger Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing
  • Sackler Lecturer, Tel Aviv University, 2009
  • Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Natural Sciences and Engineering, Hebrew University, 2009-10
  • 2008 ACM/AAAI Newell Award
  • ACSU (Association of Computer Science Undergraduates) Faculty of the Year award, 2007.
  • Gilles Lecturer at University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana, 2006.
  • Elected Fellow of AAAS, 2005
  • Awarded Ralph S. Watts College of Engineering Teaching Award, 2005
  • Selected Fellow of the ACM, 2002
  • Awarded Guggenheim and Fulbright Fellowships, 2001-02.
  • Milner Lecturer at Edinburgh University, May, 2000.
  • Awarded 1997 Gödel Prize for outstanding paper in the area of theoretical computer science for Knowledge and common knowledge in a distributed environment.
  • Received ``Best Paper'' awards:
  • Given ``Outstanding Innovation Award'' by IBM:
  • Received ``First Plateau Invention Achievement Award'', IBM, 1992.
  • Elected Fellow of the American Association of Artificial Intelligence, 1993.
  • Papers invited to special issues of journals:
  • Plausibility measures and default reasoning commended for its excellence by the Committee on the ``IGPL/FoLLI Prize for the Best Idea of the Year 1996''.

    next up previous
    Next: About this document Up: Resume Previous: Other activities

    Last updated, February, 2019 - Joe Halpern