n CS4410: Class Schedule

CS4410/4411: Operating Systems

Fall 2013, Profs. Sirer and van Renesse

Course Schedule

Date Topic Reading
Thu Aug 29
Introduction (PDF): Introduces the course and its contents; Discusses the history of OSs.No reading
Tue Sep 03
Architectural Support for Operating Systems (PDF): Interrupts and Traps; I/O and device drivers; OS Protection; OS Structure; Booting.Ch. 1 & 2
Thu Sep 05
Tue Sep 10
Processes and Threads (PDF): What is a process? What is a thread? How are they created and destroyed? How are processes and threads implemented?Ch. 3
Thu Sep 12
CPU Scheduling (PDF): How does the OS decide which user processes/threads to schedule?Ch. 7
Tue Sep 17
Thu Sep 19
Tue Sep 24
Thu Sep 26
Synchronization (PDF): How do threads share the same memory without stepping on each others toes? How do threads coordinate their execution? Locks, spinlocks, semaphores, monitors and condition variables.Ch. 4 & 5
Tue Oct 01
Thu Oct 03
Deadlocks (PDF): How to prevent synchronized threads from mutually blocking each other.Ch. 4 & 5
Tue Oct 08
Review Session
Thu Oct 10
Memory Management (PDF): Memory organization. Paging. Segmentation. Page Tables. TLB Management.Ch. 8
Tue Oct 15
Fall Break
Thu Oct 17
Tue Oct 22
Virtual Memory (PDF)Ch. 9
Thu Oct 24
Tue Oct 29
Thu Oct 31
Tue Nov 05
Thu Nov 07
Networking (PDF): Network organization. Ethernet. ARP. DHCP. DNS. IP. TCP. BGP. Routing overview.

Saltzer, Reed and Clark, End-to-End Arguments in System Design.

Tue Nov 12
Disks and RAID (PDF): Disk Organization. Disk Interface. RAID.Ch. 12
Thu Nov 14
Tue Nov 19
Thu Nov 21
File Systems (PDF): How are filesystems implemented, what are the performance implications for various designs? Persistence, Consistency, FAT, Unix File System, Log structured filesystems(PDF).Ch. 13 & 14

Rosenblum and Ousterhout. The Design and Implementation of a Log-Structured File System.
Tue Nov 26
Security (1) (PDF): Basics of authentication, authorization and privacy management in operating systems.
Thu Nov 28
Thanksgiving
Tue Dec 03
Security (2) (PDF)
Thu Dec 05
Advanced Operating Systems

© 2013, Cornell University