n CS4410: Class Schedule

CS4410/4411: Operating Systems

Fall 2012, Prof. Sirer

Course Schedule

Date Topic Reading
Thu Aug 23
Introduction (PDF): Introduces the course and its contents; Discusses the history of OSs.No reading
Tue Aug 28
Architectural Support for Operating Systems (PDF): Interrupts and Traps; I/O and device drivers; OS Protection; OS Structure; Booting.Ch. 1 & 2
Thu Aug 30
Tue Sep 04
Processes and Threads (PDF): What is a process? What is a thread? How are they created and destroyed? How are processes and threads implemented?Ch. 3
Thu Sep 06
CPU Scheduling (PDF): How does the OS decide which user processes/threads to schedule?Ch. 7
Tue Sep 11
Thu Sep 13
Tue Sep 18
Thu Sep 20
Synchronization (PDF): How do threads share the same memory without stepping on each others toes? How do threads coordinate their execution? Locks, spinlocks, semaphores, monitors and condition variables.Ch. 4 & 5
Tue Sep 25
Thu Sep 27
Deadlocks (PDF): How to prevent synchronized threads from mutually blocking each other.Ch. 4 & 5
Tue Oct 02
Review Session
Thu Oct 04
Memory Management (PDF): Memory organization. Paging. Segmentation. Page Tables. TLB Management.Ch. 8
Tue Oct 09
Fall Break
Thu Oct 11
Tue Oct 16
Virtual Memory (PDF)Ch. 9
Thu Oct 18
Tue Oct 23
Thu Oct 25
Tue Oct 30
Thu Nov 01
Networking (PDF): Network organization. Ethernet. ARP. DHCP. DNS. IP. TCP. BGP. Routing overview.

Saltzer, Reed and Clark, End-to-End Arguments in System Design.

Tue Nov 06
Disks and RAID (PDF): Disk Organization. Disk Interface. RAID.Ch. 12
Thu Nov 08
Tue Nov 13
Thu Nov 15
File Systems (PDF): How are filesystems implemented, what are the performance implications for various designs? Persistence, Consistency, FAT, Unix File System, Log structured filesystems.Ch. 13 & 14

Rosenblum and Ousterhout. The Design and Implementation of a Log-Structured File System.
Tue Nov 20
Thanksgiving
Thu Nov 22
Security (PDF): Basics of authentication, authorization and privacy management in operating systems.
Tue Nov 27
Advanced Operating Systems

© 2011, Cornell University