Awards/Special Celebrations

Teaching Awards

Brian Smith - Tau Beta Pi Award from the College of Engineering.
The most coveted teaching award in Cornell's College of Engineering, given annually by the Cornell Society of Engineers to the single faculty member whose teaching had the most impact on their Cornell education.
David Gries - Weiss Presidental Fellow from Cornell University.
For effective, inspiring, and distinguished teaching of undergraduate students. Gries will carry this designation for the remainder of his Cornell career. This is the highest award for teaching given by the University - fewer than 10 faculty thus far are Weiss Fellows.
David Gries - IEEE Taylor Booth Education Award.
For three decades of commitment to education in Computer Science, as demonstrated by his record of outstanding teaching and mentoring, writing of textbooks, curriculum development, and professional leadership.
Daniel Huttenlocher - Outstanding Educator Award, Cornell University.
Chosen by undergraduate Michael Leventon as the faculty member who influenced him the most.
Ronitt Rubinfeld - ACSU Faculty of the Year Award.
The Association of Computer Science Undergraduates presents an annual Faculty of the Year Award at the spring student/faculty luncheon.
Ramin Zabih - teaching recognition from the College of Engineering.
This award, established in 1995 by the College of Engineering, recognizes outstanding teaching in the College.

Research Awards

Thorsten von Eicken - Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship.
These two-year, unrestricted research fellowships are given to stimulate fundamental research by young scholars of outstanding promise. Nationwide, ten fellowships are given annually in the field of Computer Science.
Ronitt Rubinfeld - NSF Visiting Professorship for Women Award.
She will hold a visiting faculty appointment at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1995-96.
Monika Henzinger - NSF Early Career Development Award.
Thomas Henzinger - NSF Early Career Development Award.
Thomas Henzinger - ONR Young Investigator Award.
This three-year program identifies and supports early in their careers those academic scientists and engineers who show exceptional promise for doing creative research.

Other Awards

Dexter Kozen - Joseph N. Pew, Jr. Professor of Engineering.
This endowed professorship was given in recognition of his innovation in and dedication to teaching in the College of Engineering.
Juris Hartmanis - Honorary Doctorate, Dr.h.c., Univ. of Dortmund, 1995.
Gerard Salton - Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Fred B. Schneider - Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Robert Constable - Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Awards to Students

T. V. Raman - ACM Outstanding Dissertation Award (co-winner).
For superior research and writing by doctoral candidates in Computer Science. In addition to a cash prize, the winner's dissertation is published by Springer-Verlag. Raman's dissertation involved the development of the system Aster, which converts text, including highly complex mathematical expressions, to audio format for use by the visually impaired. Raman is the second Cornell PhD to win this prestigious award; hes a PhD student of David Gries.
Grzegorz Czajkowski - Best Master's Thesis in Computer Science in Poland.
Michael Leventon - Merrill Presidential Scholar, Cornell University.
Given to 35 members of the graduating class. Michael was also a runner-up in the ACM Outstanding Undergraduate Award competition.

Return to:

1994-1995 Annual Report Home Page
Departmental Home Page

If you have questions or comments please contact:

Last modified: 20 November 1995 by Denise Moore (