Faculty Awards for 2001–02

NSF Career Award   The Career program recognizes and supports the early career-development activities of those teacher–scholars who are most likely to become the academic leaders of the twenty-first century.

                    Recipients Johannes Gehrke, Andrew Myers, and Golan Yona.

Sloan Research Fellowship  Fellowships are designed to identify those who show the most outstanding promise of making fundamental contributions to new knowledge. Sloan Research Fellows, once chosen by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, are free to pursue whatever lines of inquiry are of the most compelling interest to them.

                    Recipients Lillian Lee and Andrew Myers.

Kendall S. Carpenter Memorial Advising Award  The Kendall S. Carpenter Memorial Advising Award recognizes individuals for “sustained and distinguished contributions of professorial faculty and senior lecturers to undergraduate advising”.

                    Recipient   Graeme Bailey.

Association of Computer Science Undergraduates (ACSU) Professor of the Year Award  The Cornell Association for Computer Science Undergraduates recognizes one computer science teacher per year.

                    Recipient   Jon Kleinberg.

Cornell’s College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award  This award, established in 1995 by the College of Engineering, recognizes outstanding teaching in the college.

                    Recipients  Lillian Lee, Andrew Myers and Bart Selman.

IBM Faculty Partnership Award  These awards are presented each year to full-time professors at accredited universities to recognize and foster innovative work in academic education and research.

                    Recipient  Jayavel Shanmugasundaram

European Conference in Computer Vision (ECCA) Best Paper Award This is an award presented annually to the best paper at the conference.
                    Recipient  Ramin Zabih

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Fellowship The MacArthur awards, popularly known as "genius awards", are intended to encourage innovation among scientists, artists, writers and musicians.

                    Recipient  Paul Ginsparg

Grand Medal of the Latvian Academy of Sciences (Lielo Medalu) The highest award given by the Academy to scientists of Latvia and of foreign countries for their outstanding creative contribution.

Juris Hartmanis