Faculty Awards

Kenneth A. Goldman '71 Excellence in Teaching Award (2000).
ACSU Faculty of the Year (1999-2000).

Stephen '57 and Marilyn Miles Excellence in Teaching Award (2000).

Engineering Teaching Award, Cornell (2001).
IBM Faculty Development Award, College of Engineering (2000, 2001).
James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award (2000).

Michael Tien'72 Award, Cornell College of Engineering. Excellence in Teaching Award (September, 2000).

Guggenheim Fellowship (2001-02) to be spent in Israel.
Fulbright Scholar (2001-02).

Lielo Medalu, Latvian Academy of Sciences. This is the highest Medal of Honor the Academy conveys.
Engineering Teaching Award, Cornell (2001).
Computing Research Association Distinguished Service Award (2000).

National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research (2001). This prize recognizes innovative young scientists to encourage research likely to lead toward new capabilities for human benefit.
David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship(1999-2004).
ONR Young Investigator Award (1999-2002).
NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award(1997-2001).

Stephen and Margery Russell Distinguished Teaching Award, College of Arts and Sciences, Cornell (2001).

Sonny Yau '72 Excellence in Teaching Award (2000-2001).
IEEE Teacher of the Year Award (2000-2001).
NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award (2000-2004).

Engineering Teaching Award, Cornell (2001).
Allen Newell Medal for Research Excellence (2001).
Ralph Watts Excellence in Teaching Award (2001).
Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2000).

Daniel M. Lazar Excellence in Teaching Award (2000).
Professor-at-Large, University of Tromsoe, Tromsoe, Norway (1996-2004).

Fellow: American Association for Artificial Intelligence.
NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award (1998-2002).

Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2001) for her contributions to the design of efficient algorithms.
Faculty of the Year , 2000-2001.

1998-2000 Burroughs-Welcome Fellowship from the Program in Mathematics and Molecular Biology (PMMB).

Student Awards

Jonathan Marx Senior Prizes were awarded to Joseph R. Aliperti and Joseph Robert Polastre. These prizes recognize outgoing and energetic students who are community minded. The Alan Marx Teaching Award was given to Brandon Roy Bray for excellence in the support of undergraduate teaching. The Marx senior awards are provided in memory of Jonathan Marx '85 and his father Alan Marx, JD '61.
     The Computer Science Prize for Academic Excellence was given to Richard Ryan Williams. This award, given annually at graduation, recognizes a student who has achieved excellence in academics, promise in the area of research (typically, published work), and a commitment to the field of computer science in terms of teaching and/or other leadership activities.
     The following undergraduates were recognized for their outstanding contributions as course consultants and undergraduate teaching assistants: Brandon Bray, Young Cho, Bobby Chow, Rob Cronin, Ben Mathew, Doug Mitarotonda, Joe Polastre, Praveen Rajasethupathy.
     The Lockheed Martin Awards for Outstanding Achievement and Academic Service were awarded to: Christian Hescock, Benedict Viglietta, Salman Arif, William Liu, and Steven Baker. Among the selection criteria were academic achievement, research accomplishments, and/or service to the teaching mission of the Department of Computer Science.
     Jeremy Kubica, Engineering Class of 2001, was named a Merrill Presidential Scholar. Recognizing the top 1 percent of each graduating class at Cornell, nominees were asked to name their most influential professor at Cornell. Jeremy selected Bart Selman, with whom he worked on an undergraduate research project.
     Jeffrey M. Vinocur was awarded a Goldwater Scholarship in April 2001. The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established by act of Congress in 1986 in recognition of the long government service of U.S. Sen. Barry Goldwater and to foster and encourage excellence in mathematics, science and engineering. Vinocur is applying to medical school and, in addition, hopes to earn his master's or doctorate and then pursue a career in research and clinical medicine, making use of his computer science education. At Cornell, he worked under Gregory Morrisett, professor of Computer Science, on type-safe programming languages, with the goal of providing a framework for designing crash-proof computers. He also has worked in the Neonatal-Physiology Research Laboratory at the MCP Hahnemann University School of Medicine in Philadelphia, investigating the biochemical mechanisms of injury to the developing brain. He will be presenting an abstract on his research at the Pediatric Academic Societies' 2001 annual meeting in Baltimore later this month.
     Computer Science undergraduate Marla Leahy '02 was awarded the Degenfelder Family Scholarship for academic year 2000-2001. This award, part of the Scholarship Challenge Campaign (Challenge 4 Campaign), will be awarded to a student in the Computational Biology concentration in academic year 2001-2002.
     Cornell's Big Red team won its second consecutive championship in the fourth annual RoboCup tournament. Held in Melbourne Australia earlier this year, the Small Robots competition featured 23 international teams. According to the team's advisor, Professor Raffaello D'Andrea, new innovations in robot design and AI contributed to improved maneuverability and control. Student team members were Bryan Audiffred '00. Michael Babish '99, Tobias Welge-Luessen '00, Josh Pollak '00, Saeed Saeed '00, Nicole Schlegel '01, Mark Schwager '00, and Will Stokes '03.