Awards and Special Celebrations

This was the year of teaching awards for the Department of Computer Science. We are very proud of all of our faculty and student awards.

Teaching Awards

David Gries - 1995 ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award.
"In recognition of leadership in the training of several generations of computer scientists," this award is given annually by the international Association for Computing Machinery.
Dan Huttenlocher - Weiss Presidential Fellow, Cornell University. Dan Huttenlocher's Photo
"For effective, inspiring, and distinguished teaching of undergraduate students." Huttenlocher will carry this designation for the remainder of his Cornell career. This is the highest award for teaching given by the University. (The CS department is the only department on campus to have two Weiss fellows; there are 12 Weiss Fellows on campus.)
Brian Smith - Stephen & Margery Russell Distinguished Teaching Award.
This is the highest award for teaching in Cornell's College of Arts & Sciences. A photo of David Gries and his mother
David Gries - Honorary degree from Daniel Webster College.
"For the positive influences his philosophy of teaching has had upon the faculty there."
Juris Hartmanis - Honorary Degree. Dr. h.c., the University of Dortmund, Germany, 1995.
Fred Schneider - Professor-at-Large, University of Tromsø. Tromsø, Norway.
Claire Cardie - College of Engineering Teaching Award.
Ronitt Rubinfeld - College of Engineering Teaching Award.
Tim Teitelbaum - College of Engineering Teaching Award.
Thorsten von Eicken - College of Engineering Teaching Award.
David Gries - ACSU Faculty of the Year Award.
The Association of Computer Science Undergraduates presents an annual Faculty of the Year Award at a special spring student/faculty event.

Research Awards

Claire Cardie - NSF Career Award.
The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program grants, awarded by the NSF to junior-level university faculty, emphasize the importance the Foundation places on integrating research and education activities in academic careers.
Claire Cardie - Lilly Teaching Fellowship.
These fellowships offer untenured faculty encouragement and incentives "to think creatively about the aims and methods of teaching" in the undergraduate curriculum prior to tenure review. Since 1974 the Lilly Endowment has sponsored three-year Teaching Fellow Programs at more than 30 major research institutions.
Juris Hartmanis - Bolzano Gold Medal of the Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic, 1995.
Ronitt Rubinfeld - Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship.
These two-year, unrestricted research fellowships are given to stimulate fundamental research by young scholars of outstanding promise. Nationwide, ten fellowships are given annually in the field of Computer Science.
Stephen Vavasis - 1996 Guggenheim Fellowship.
Guggenheim Fellows include artists, scholars, and scientists chosen annually from both academic and non-academic institutions. Recipients are appointed on the basis of unusually distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment.

Awards to Students

Mike Arcuri - Merrill Presidential Scholar, Cornell University.
This award was given to 35 members of the Cornell graduating class.
Tobin Driscoll - NSF Postdoctoral Fellowhip.
Fatemeh Nazgol Moussavi - Jonathan E. Marx Senior Prize.
Wren Tarkington McMains - Jonathan E. Marx Senior Prize.
Kim-Chuan Toh - Second Prize, Fox Prize in Numerical Analysis.
Nikola Valerjev - Alan S. Marx Senior Education Prize.

Go to:
Focus on Education
Return to:
1995-1996 Annual Report Home Page
Departmental Home Page

If you have questions or comments please contact: